Oatmeal experiment

The view from my end of the couch last night:

DSC01412

I don’t like oatmeal.

Correction: I don’t like regular oatmeal

I do like

  • oatmeal in cookies – i.e. oatmeal chocolate chip
  • oatmeal in granola

Many of the bloggers whose blogs I read, have oatmeal in the morning for breakfast. Sometimes it is mixed with yogurt, sometimes ‘made’ in the fridge overnight, sometimes put in smoothies.

Since I like oatmeal, just not fully cooked, I am going to do some oatmeal experimenting. . .

So, last night, I put 1/2 cup oatmeal with 1/4 cup skim milk to soak overnight.

This morning, I tested it. It tasted pretty good. It was still a little nutty but a little chewy too. I didn’t want to just eat it plain, but wasn’t quite sure what to put on it.

So, I tried fresh blueberries on one side and a scoop of pb on the other.

DSC01413DSC01414DSC01415

I didn’t like the blueberries with the oatmeal. So, I ended up just eating the blueberries.

Then, I mixed the pb in with the rest of the oatmeal. It was ok. . . it kinda turned into a gooey ball. I ate most of it, but it wasn’t the best thing ever.

DSC01418

I think it would be good, with the right toppings. . .

Thankfully, I had my caramel skim latte to save breakfast!

DSC01416DSC01419

And Abby was helpful too!

DSC01417

Help! What do you put on your oatmeal?

Leave a comment

Filed under Breakfast

Leave a Reply

