White Chocolate Raspberry Cheesecake

Scott went to help a friend with electrical work in their unfinished basement, so I decided to get busy in the kitchen.

First, I had to run to the grocery store to get some key ingredients.

I am also really excited about a few things I picked up:

DSC01541DSC01542DSC01545DSC01546

Then, I got to work in the kitchen on a White Chocolate Raspberry Cheesecake!

DSC01535

I got the recipe from Betty Crocker. The recipe gave directions to make the crust, but to make it easy on myself, I bought a Keebler pre-made graham cracker crust.

To start, I mixed 3 blocks of cream cheese, added 1/2 cup sugar. While that was mixing, I melted 12 ounces of white chocolate chips in the microwave. Then, I added the melted chips to the cream cheese/sugar mixture. Add 1/2 cup whipping cream and 3 eggs.

Abby helped. . .

DSC01530

Cream cheese

DSC01531

Add sugar

DSC01532

Melted white chocolate

DSC01536

whipping cream

DSC01533

I put that mixture into my graham cracker crust.

DSC01540

There was too much cheesecake filling for the crust I bought.

DSC01539

So, I crumbled some graham crackers into a small ramekin and then covered it with the leftover filling. Not quite sure how that will work out, but I didn’t want to waste the extra filling.

If I made this again, I would either get 2 smaller pre-made crusts or make my own crust and use a springform pan (like the recipe suggested). I also had to take some samples for myself!

The finished product:

DSC01549

Little ‘experiment’ ramekin.

DSC01548

When Scott got home, we took Abby for a nice walk around the neighborhood. Unfortunately, it is supposed to get cold and rain tonight, so the wind was starting to pick up and the temperature was definitely dropping. It was still nice to get out though. Abby enjoyed it!

DSC01551

After we got home, I got right to work on dinner. Last fall we had dinner with some friends at CRAVE in the cities and I had a really awesome grape and blue cheese flatbread. I decided I wanted to try to recreate that tonight.

I picked up rosemary and olive oil flatbread at the store.

I started with cooking some onions until soft.

DSC01555

Then, I put the onions, sliced grapes and blue cheese crumbles on each piece.

DSC01559DSC01560

Then, put them in the oven on low broil until cheese was melty.

DSC01561

I also picked up some fresh-made pineapple sausage from the grocery store earlier today. Scott fired up the grill – first time this year!

DSC01557

Good dinner. . . flatbread and pineapple brat! I love the first grilled item of the season!

DSC01562

Now. . . time for cheesecake!

It was wonderful. You could really taste the white chocolate flavor.

DSC01563DSC01564

DSC01565

What a great way to end Sunday night. Off to watch America’s Next Great Restaurant. See ya tomorrow.

White Chocolate Raspberry Cheesecake
from Betty Crocker

Filling
1 bag (12 ounce) white chocolate chips
3 packages (8 oz) cream cheese, softened
1/2 cup sugar
1/2 cup whipping cream
3 eggs

Glaze/Topping
1 pint (2 cups)
3 T raspberry jelly

1 pre-made graham cracker crust

1. Heat oven to 325.

2. In a large bowl, beat cream cheese with electric mixture until smooth. Beat in sugar until well blended.

3. Melt white chocolate chips in a microwave safe bowl, about 1 minute, and stir until smooth.

4. Add melted chocolate to cream cheese/sugar mixture.

5. Beat in whipping cream and eggs. Spoon over crust.

6. Bake about an hour, until edge is set, but center of cheesecake still jiggles slightly when moved.

7. Turn oven off, open oven door about 4 inches. Leave cheesecake in oven 30 minutes longer.

8. Remove from oven and let cool on rack for about 30 minutes.

9. Refrigerate uncovered about 3 hours or until chilled.

10. Arrange raspberries on top of chilled cheesecake. In a small microwaveable bowl, microwave jelly 20-30 seconds until melted. Stir to smooth. Brush or spoon over raspberries.

11. Store cheesecake covered in refrigerator.

Leave a comment

Filed under Recipes

Leave a Reply

