OCB and Easter Eggs

Scott and I met up downstairs for a quick spin on the bike before lunch today. I rode for an hour, and worked up quite the sweat! I finished my workout with a couple sets of pushups and planks.

Lunch was something to cool us down. . . smoothies!

DSC02006

Mine was 2% plain chobani yogurt with frozen mixed berries, splash of milk and drizzle of honey.

I topped it with granola, banana chips and chia seeds.

It wasn’t as good as yesterday. I think the 2% pineapple chobani (that I used yesterday) has just a little more sweetness and creaminess in it to make it more smooth and creamy.

Abby enjoyed the yogurt too!

DSC02005

We were still hungry after our smoothies, so I popped up Kettle corn – smart pop popcorn.

DSC02008

After lunch, we packed our bags for our overnight trip to the cities. And headed out. . .

On the way to the cities, we stopped in Le Sueur (where I will be working come September) to check out the town.

We stopped by the Mayo house, home of the Mayo brothers who founded the Mayo Clinic in Rochester, MN.

DSC02014

DSC02015

Abby didn’t think it was very impressive.  ..  (hint: it involves #2).

We also went and checked out the progress on the new clinic building that I will be working in.

Scott liked explaining some of the elements to me!

DSC02019DSC02020

Then, we got to my parent’s house and Laura and I went out for date night!

Scott was having dinner with all of his guy friends, so I invited Laura out!

And we went to Old Country Buffet (OCB!). . . Scott doesn’t like OCB at all, so whenever I get to go to dinner with Laura, one of the places I always offer as an option is OCB – because she loves their mac and cheese! When we went there as kids, that is seriously all she ate! Smile 

I like going with Laura because she doesn’t mess around. See, she got a corn dog with her salad plate!

I started with some salad and a dinner roll.

DSC02022

And they have ICEE’s!

My second plate: I checked out the corn dog that Laura raved about – totally the best part of dinner! Some orange chicken, fried chicken and another awesome dinner roll.

DSC02024

My final plate: dessert

The best part: the chocolate cream pie and the piece of cookie pie that is hiding. . . pretty much the only two things that got eaten on this plate!

DSC02025

After we were both full. . . I convinced her to take me to Super Target so I could get more. . .

DSC02026

I seriously have a problem. . .  Winking smile

Then, we headed back to my parent’s house for coloring Easter eggs with Dad. Mom just left today for an all girls trip to St. Martin! So, we are putting off our ‘official’ Easter celebration until she comes back. . . but still decided we should color eggs!

The set up. . .

DSC02027

Coloring in progress. . .

DSC02029DSC02032

My egg for Scott: “District #7 Traffic Engineer”

DSC02033

One of my favorites. . .

DSC02035

Abby cleaning out a leftover container from my sister making a dip to take to a work potluck tonight. . .

DSC02039DSC02041

Laura with her RN egg – she just passed her nursing exam!!!!

DSC02043

Me with one of my eggs and a goofy look. . .

DSC02044

The egg my Dad made for Scott: “Merge”

DSC02045

The finished product!

 

DSC02042

DSC02048

Now, the best part is making egg salad or eating them and seeing all the colors on the whites!

Better get to bed, church is going to come early tomorrow! Hope you had a great Saturday. . . ‘night.

2 Comments

Filed under Dinner, Lunch

2 responses to “OCB and Easter Eggs

  1. Cute post! :] Congrats to your sister for passing her nursing exam! I’m in nursing school now and I know how excited she must be! & your puppy is precious!

Leave a Reply

