Smoothie craving swap

Abby and I spent the morning watching The Office and hanging out on the couch watching the rain.

About 10:30 I decided to get my butt off the couch and head downstairs to get my sweat on.

60 minutes on the bike and I was definitely sweaty! I finished my workout with a round of tug with Abby and planks and pushups.

For my planks and pushups, I did the following x2:

  • standard plank on forearms and toes x 60 seconds
  • standard pushups x 15
  • plank with straight arms and on toes x 60 seconds
  • triceps pushups x15
  • side plank – hold each side x45 seconds
  • downward dog pushups x 15

It was a good way to get in some strength training and ab work.

My pink socks made me happy to look at during the planks!

DSC02216

After a shower and folding a load of laundry, I was ready for lunch.

Repeat of yesterday: Salad of leftovers. It included:

  • lettuce mix
  • carrots
  • parmesan couscous
  • roasted asparagus
  • a few candied pecans
  • sprinkle of crushed tortilla chips for crunch
  • blue cheese dressing

It was just as good as yesterday. I really like the addition of grains – like couscous!

DSC02219

And just like yesterday, when I was done with the salad, I was craving some dessert.

Instead of diving head first into that open bag of candy, I made myself a yummy smoothie!

DSC02222

Such a better decision. . . in the mix: chobani raspberry yogurt, frozen strawberries, 1/2 frozen banana, splash of OJ. Finished with sprinkle of banana chips and chia seeds.

DSC02223

Perfection – and now I am full and not craving any more dessert!

I have never used a frozen banana in my smoothies before. It gave the smoothie a nice creamy texture – love it!

Abby loved the smoothie too. . . she actually got up from her ‘spot’ on the couch to come and help clean up my bowl!

 DSC02226

DSC02225

Now, just chillin’ until Laura gets here in a little while! Hope you are having a great weekend. Smile

Leave a comment

Filed under Lunch

Leave a Reply

