The beauty of chia

Somebody. . . used all the milk this morning! No CSL for me.

Because of the hot weather yesterday, thankfully, a smoothie sounded really good.

Into the blender: strawberry chobani yogurt, 1 cup frozen strawberries, 1/2 cup OJ.

DSC02396

Topped with: 1/2 t chia seeds, 1/8 cup banana chips

DSC02397

It was cool and creamy and yummy! Winking smile I love how chia seeds absorb some of the water and turn into gel-like pieces. My new favorite thing.

And I love the nutritional information of chia seeds! I read this on Carrots ‘N’ Cake:

In terms of nutritional content, a tablespoon of chia is like a smoothie made from salmon, spinach, and human growth hormone. As tiny as those seeds are, they’re superpacked with omega-3s, omega-6s, protein, calcium, iron, zinc, fiber, and antioxidants. If you had to pick just one desert-island food, you wouldn’t do much better than chia, at least if you were interested in building muscle, lowering cholesterol, and reducing your risk of heart disease; after a few months on the chia diet, you could probably swim home.

I hope they help make up for my dessert last night!

DSC02391

I love the rich, thick caramel in these eggs. Thanks Cadbury! Smile And thanks Mom for putting them in my Easter Basket.

Abby was interested in dessert too! She had obviously recovered from our HOT run!

Off to work. . . have a great Wednesday! See ya tonight.

2 Comments

Filed under Breakfast

2 responses to “The beauty of chia

  1. I need to start using chia seeds in my smoothies. Where do you buy yours?

Leave a Reply

