Birthday weekend

I can’t believe it is Sunday already! The past few days flew by. . .

Here is the recap!

Friday:

After Scott and I put in 4.5 miles around Colby Lake in Woodbury, we showered and loaded up the car for the weekend.

Laura (my little sister) joined us for the ride.

DSC02623

We stopped at Arby’s for lunch on the way up.

DSC02625

I got the #1 meal: regular roast beef and a curly fry – YUM –O!

DSC02627DSC02628

Dinner was at Two Acres Supper Club. . . which we have been going to their Friday night fish fry since before I was born. We call it by the owner’s name, so to us, it is Randy’s not Two Acres!

Jenny and I. . .

DSC02634

Laura always asks Randy (who runs the bar) to make her a drink.  . .

DSC02631

it was super good so I asked for one too. Smile

DSC02632

Then, the usual fish fry dinner: fish, french fries, toast and coleslaw.  . of course with tons of tartar sauce! It was delicious. The whole family was there: Mom, Dad, Laura, Jenny and Scott.

DSC02638

Afterwards, we went back to the cabin for presents and dessert.

DSC02640

DSC02641

Jenny gave me this awesome cupcake book.  .. it is all about how to make exciting and elaborate cupcakes. It looks super cute and fun. She thought it might be a fun thing to blog about – so watch for more about it!

DSC02704

DSC02706

She also gave me some sprinkles

DSC02707

and a scrubber for the cupcake pan – so cute!

DSC02708

Also, I got some running shirts from Dad, a watch from Mom, Shred DVD from Abby and Scott put a connection in my car so I can listen to my iPod in the car! Overall, it was a great birthday. Thanks to my family for making it great. Smile 

My parent’s tore down the old place last summer, so this is our first summer in the new place. It  is still under construction! So, no flooring. Only one bathroom right now. No kitchen yet. Just a mini fridge and a microwave for the weekend.

The kitchen. . .

DSC02639

The living room

DSC02647

Cake was red velvet from Buttercream. OMG – it was awesome! Even my sister and Mom who don’t really like cake, loved it! Scott did good. Smile 

DSC02642

DSC02643

DSC02644DSC02645

DSC02681

Saturday:

The view from the porch

DSC02648

Saturday was spent taking Abby to the vet for her yearly checkup. We go to the vet in the small town (Bloomer) that is close to the Lake. He took care of our family dog when I was growing up and is taking care of Abby too – plus his prices are much cheaper than in a bigger city. She is doing great! And got a yummy treat for going!

DSC02651

And you can’t have a Saturday at the Lake without going to the Bloomer bakery. My favorite is the sprinkled long john. Delicious!

DSC02652

DSC02653

Laura and I played Phase 10 – she won.

DSC02654

DSC02655

Hanging on the porch.  ..

DSC02657

Jenny and I played UNO – She won 2/3. Lunch was my Mom’s chicken dumping soup. A Lake staple. The best ever – seriously!

DSC02660

The dogs took turns being cute. . .

DSC02661

DSC02665

DSC02666

Dad and I took the dogs for a run in the rain in the afternoon. There are some four wheel trails around that are great for the dogs to run around.

Then, the rain tapered off, so Dad could grill.

DSC02670

Abby was a good helper

DSC02671

The driveway. . . aka the mud-way

DSC02672

The dining room.  .. well really the living room.

DSC02673

We brought some house made brats from Hy-Vee in Mankato. Pineapple, beer, green onion and bacon and cheddar. They were delicious. Mom also made deviled eggs, chips and dip and lots of veggies.

DSC02676

DSC02677

 

DSC02679

DSC02680

DSC02685

And of course, more cake!

DSC02682

Abby during dinner. . .

DSC02684

Sunday:

We got up this morning, had some breakfast (bagel with cream cheese and cherries), hung around the kitchen table for a while. . . and by kitchen table, I mean the round picnic table we dragged in from outside so we would have a table inside! Hopefully, the next time we go, we will have furniture!

Dogs helped with clean-up.

DSC02687

Check out Ellie’s tongue!

DSC02691

DSC02693

Mom and Jenny played cards.

Jenny winning. . .

DSC02694

Mom winning. . .

DSC02695

It was overcast and cold this morning, so we decided to hit the road.  .. .

DSC02698

Laura came along too.  Abby appreciated the backseat company.

DSC02630

Now, we are back home. Scott is out mowing the lawn and I am getting going on the laundry.

It was a fun weekend, we always like going up to the Lake and spending time with family (and celebrating my birthday was nice too!), but nothing beats coming home!

Hope you are having a great weekend!

Any big plans for Monday?

I hope to get a run in, do my Shred DVD (I got my own copy for my birthday! I was renting it from Netflix) and relax with Scott!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

