Small meals

When I am working long shifts (like yesterday, today and tomorrow!), I tend to eat 6 small meals rather than 3 large ones.

For one, it is easier with my schedule. . . I have to eat when I get the chance – no hour long lunch breaks for me, more like 5 minutes at a time between patients. So, I just don’t have time to eat a big meal. And two, it helps to make the day go by faster while I am working.

If I have…
breakfast about 8am,
snack between 10 and 11,
lunch between 12-1,
snack between 3-4,
dinner between 6-7,
snack between 8-9
… it helps to pass the time because if I get busy, then I am excited when I look at the clock and it is time to eat again! It also helps to keep my energy up. I find that I eat overall healthier too. I try to pack high energy foods.

Like today, I had my
caramel skim latte for breakfast,
almond honey granola bar for morning snack,
salad with teryaki chicken for lunch,
cinnamon roasted almonds for afternoon snack,
bite sized frosted mini wheats for evening snack,
english muffin egg sandwich for dinner (I will usually swap my evening snack and dinner around, so I can have ‘dinner’ at home). ..

I don’t want to get too full because that will drag me down and make me feel sluggish and I know I am eating again ‘soon’ so I can be ok with still being a little hungry after finishing a meal or a snack.

I would really like to do this when I am not crazy busy at work and just have a ‘normal’ schedule, but I can’t seem to step away from food as easily, if I don’t have other things going on. . . something I might have to work on because it makes me feel so much better!

Do you eat 3 larger meals a day or smaller ‘meals’ and snacks?

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Small meals

  1. I do exactly the same – breakfast at 7, snack at 10-10.30, lunch at 1-1.30, snack at 4, dinner at 6.30-7 and if I have an evening workout a final snack at 9.30-10. It keeps me energy up, fuels my workouts and stops me overeating because I just think ‘I’ll be eating again so soon, that’s enough’.

    Works like a charm for me!

    • I think I really like it too. . . the key for me will be to not eat more than I need at lunch and dinner when I am not working these long days and have to pack ahead of time. 🙂 Any suggestions?

Leave a Reply

