Tuxedo cake

After another great dinner at 5 Guys and Fries, which looked a lot like this one. . .

We stopped at the grocery store for some dessert. I found this piece of ‘tuxedo’ cake.

DSC03568

And Scott decided he just really wanted cookies. So, he came home and spent 3 hours in the kitchen cooking chocolate chip walnut cookies. Abby was trying to be a good helper! And I tried to be a good cookie dough eater! Smile 

DSC03570

DSC03572DSC03573

This morning started with an iced latte and an English muffin sandwich with Colby cheese and strawberry jam.

I love the way the drizzle of caramel from the top makes it’s way down the side of the glass! So pretty.

DSC03575

DSC03576

DSC03578

Scott and I were dumb bunnies again today and didn’t get out for a run until 1pm. Scott wants to make sure that the record reflects that he wanted to go running this morning and I wanted to drink my latte! Smile 

So, it was another HOT 87 degree 3.5 mile run. Abby made sure to find all the good shade trees to take breaks during it. We survived and vowed to run tomorrow morning at 8am!

Lunch was strawberry smoothies made with frozen strawberries, strawberry chobani yogurt and mango OJ. But no spinach – and I totally have some in the fridge! I know, I know! I promise (cross my heart) to put spinach in my NEXT smoothie! Winking smile 

Topped with chia seeds and drizzle of coconut butter.

DSC03579

This afternoon, I taught CTI at the YMCA.

It was a pretty tough class. . .

Tonight we used a mat and a set of light and heavy hand weights (I used 4 and 8 pounds)

Circuit 1
20 secs high knees, 40 secs slow jog x 3
Squat with front kicks
Alternating forward and back arms with light weights
Side plank – 30 secs on each side
Pushups x 10

Circuit 2
Jumping lunges
Skips around the room
Sumo squats with knee lift – hold weights
Triceps kickback
Standard crunch

Circuit 3
Jacks
Side kick – each side x 30 secs
Butt kicks
Forward punch with light weights
Superman

I was very sweaty afterward = success!

Dinner was salads!

Mine included

  • lettuce*
  • snap peas*
  • carrots
  • radishes*
  • mandarin oranges
  • pickles
  • leftover grilled steak
  • sprinkle of cheese
  • balsamic vinegar
  • * = from our CSA this week!

DSC03580

DSC03581

The pickles were these Famous Dave’s Signature Spicy Pickle Chips that Scott picked out at the grocery store last week – really good. A nice mix of sweet pickle flavor with some spice to them too. Perfect on my salad!

DSC03583

And I have to tell you about the awesome balsamic vinegar I got from Williams and Sonoma a few weeks ago. Awesome flavor. I don’t even have to add olive oil – just drizzle right on the salad for a great dressing.

DSC03242

Now off to eat dessert: hmmm tough decision – leftover cake or cookies!

Hope you are having start to your week! See ya tomorrow.

2 Comments

Filed under Abby, Breakfast, CTI, Dinner, Lunch, Running

2 responses to “Tuxedo cake

  1. Abby has such a pretty face 🙂

    Looks like a great workout, I love circuits. Sumo squats rule!

  2. Love that Williams and Sonoma balsalmic vinegar!!

Leave a Reply

