Cupcake making

Last night.  .. . after my 20 mile bike ride. . . Scott thought it would be a good time for us to go on our ‘long’ run of the week –> 6 miles!

It was miserable! The whole thing was awful. I was tired, my legs were heavy and it was hot.

We took a few walking breaks which helped a little, but we made it! 6 mile run done! One step closer to our 14 mile run around the Lake on Labor Day weekend.

I had to use all my ‘tricks’ to get through. . .

  • Each step is one step closer to being done
  • Anyone can run 2 miles, 20 minutes, 10 minutes, etc.
  • This way I can eat more cupcakes
  • At least I look super cute in my pink sparkle bic band
  • Thinking about how awesome I’ll feel when this is done
  • What should be for dinner??? For the record, the answer is smoothies!

Thankfully, I had spent the afternoon making cupcakes so that was a good reward!

DSC03856

Courtney from Sweet Tooth Sweet Life always makes the most delicious looking cupcakes and I knew I had to give some of her recipes a try. . .

So, enter white chocolate yellow cupcakes with raspberry almond buttercream.

I used a regular Betty Crocker cake mix for yellow cake and added 1 cup of white chocolate chips to the batter.

DSC03828DSC03829

DSC03832

I used the super cute cupcake liners my sister gave me for my birthday. . .

DSC03834

DSC03835

Then, I used Courtney’s recipe for Raspberry Almond Buttercream frosting: Here is my exact recipe:

1 1/4 sticks butter – softened
1 t almond extract
1 t raspberry extract
4 cups powdered sugar
4 T milk
2 drops red food coloring – duh… to make them pink!

 

Abby and Scott were very helpful when it came to the frosting part.. .

Scott licked the beaters

DSC03843DSC03845

And Abby stayed right by my side while I was frosting cupcakes

DSC03848

Eventually, she got tired, but still didn’t get too far away!

DSC03850

DSC03851

For some of them, I used this super cool sanding sugar on them. . . another part of my birthday present from Jenny.

DSC03853

It gave them just a hint of sparkle! Love it.

DSC03855

DSC03860

Overall, the were really yummy. The white chocolate chips sunk to the bottom and weren’t really incorporated into the ‘cupcake’ itself, so I was a little bummed about that.

The buttercream was good too – very raspberry flavor-y. . . My search for the best cupcake/buttercream combo continues. . . I don’t think Scott will mind at all! Winking smile 

In the meantime. . . we will be enjoying all my hard work from yesterday.

DSC03862

Leave a comment

Filed under Recipes, Running

Leave a Reply

