Chicken stir fry

I actually made dinner last week! OK, it was a simple chicken stir fry, but still. . . progress! Smile 

IMG_0447

I saw this combo for a sauce on PBFingers a while ago and have had it in the back of my mind to make it since then.

Here is the sauce: (with the ratios suggested by Julie)

1/4 cup honey
1/4 cup soy sauce
2 T hoisin sauce

IMG_0440IMG_0444

So, while the baby was hanging in the sleepy wrap. . .

IMG_0369

I cut up 1 lb of chicken breast into bite sized pieces.

IMG_0442

Cooked up the chicken with a little drizzle of olive oil until almost cooked thu.

IMG_0443

Added veggies: I had onions and broccoli on hand, but you can use any veggies you want.

The two key ingredients for me in a stir fry are these guys!

IMG_0441

I love them!

Added everything into the pan: 1 large onion, broccoli, mini corn, and water chestnuts. Cooked until almost tender. Added back the chicken and sauce mix. I like hoisin sauce, so I added extra of that to my sauce – probably about 1/4 cup total. And cooked until veggies are soft and chicken is cooked thru.

IMG_0445

Serve over rice and top with cashews!

Perfect, easy and quick weeknight meal.

The sauce was tasty too. Love the combo of sweet honey, salty soy sauce and rich flavor of the hoisin. The only thing I would change for next time is less soy sauce and more honey/hoisin because this mix got a little salty for me at the end.

IMG_0448

Here’s to making dinner and trying new recipes! Smile

Leave a comment

Filed under Recipes

Leave a Reply

