Injury!

And things were going so well. . .

With the half marathon less than a month away and I was having some of the best running I have had in the recent past. .. it was really only a matter of time before this happened.

An injury.

open-uri20120806-28782-14rdu4rsource

I was out on a nice run, the sun was shinning, there was a slight breeze, and I was feeling good. A little too good. . . I was running before I picked Luke up from daycare so I had exactly 55 minutes before I had to be back at daycare to pick him up. And we have been looking at houses in St. Peter, thinking about a move sometime in the future. And I wanted to run past this house we saw online. And it took me 28 minutes to get there. Ok, no big deal, I can just pick up the pace a little bit to get back on time. . . and I had given myself a few minute buffer just in case too. But I was running faster than I normally do, but again, NBD, because I was feeling good. Then BAM . . . sharp pain in my calf. I had to stop and walk. Totally strained my calf muscle! I hobbled back to daycare to pick up Luke and thankfully made it on time. . . and I took a few days off from running. . . but since then – every time I go running – it hurts!

image_gallery source

Scott and I did run 11.1 miles on Sunday. And it felt fine for about the first 6 miles and then started to feel tight and strained. I am a little slow, so I ran again on Tuesday for 4 miles and it hurt the whole time!

I guess I keep hoping that running will help stretch it out, but no luck! Now we are 18 days away from the half marathon and I don’t want to have to deal with this injury during it! Boo. So, I am going to do relative rest, ibuprofen, ice, heat, stretching like crazy. No more long runs til the half marathon. . . and don’t push it thru pain on short runs. I am thinking I might try some incline walking on the treadmill later this week to get in a workout but not run until at least this weekend.

Any other suggestions on dealing with this?

Think happy get better quick thoughts for my running for me please!

Leave a comment

Filed under Running

Leave a Reply

