Daily Archives: March 17, 2011

It’s hilly in Colorado!

Before we headed to the city, we went for a run. Everywhere we went was UP!

We ended up at this monument point, where the view was awesome. We went back to take these pictures after we got showered up and ready to head out for dinner.

the run up this short hill to the statue was the worst! But totally worth it for the view.

 

downtown Denver!

chilly with the wind today, even though it was 60 degrees!

We went to Lower Downtown Denver to the 16th street mall and walked around amid all the St. Patrick’s Day madness.

I found another cow in downtown Denver!

Then, we headed to dinner at the Denver Chop-House and Brewery. I had dinner here with Jenny when we were in town for a weekend get-away together. It was as good tonight as I remembered!

Dinner began with drinks. A wheat beer for Scott and a martini for me.

House salad.

Green chile cornbread with honey butter – the best ever!

And of course when dinner came – filet mignon with gorgonzola sauce and white cheddar mashed potatoes, I was too busy digging in to take a picture! I didn’t realize it until I was looking at my half empty plate thinking about how full my tummy was!

It was a great dinner. . . with great company.

Now we are headed back to the hotel, but not before we picked up some of this. . . 

Cheesecake Factory Cheesecake is the best! Tonight we shared white chocolate caramel macadamia nut cheesecake!

Now off to bed. . . Looking forward to tomorrow. Going to St. Mary’s Glacier, driving to Grand Junction and having dinner with my friend and her family tomorrow night!

G’night!

1 Comment

Filed under Dinner, vacation

Hello from Colorado!

Yesterday, after working all day long, Scott and I headed out on our week-long road trip.

heading out!

Dinner! Trail mix with raisins, m&ms, cashews and peanuts. YUM. 🙂

Just missed the "Welcome to Iowa" sign

flat Iowa. . .

pretty sunset and me!

chocolate on the pillow at the Omaha Marriott

We made it to Omaha last night about 10pm. We pretty much  headed to bed to get ready for our long drive to Denver today.

good way to start the day = caramel macchiato

road trip day #2!

yummy snack while Scott cleans the windshield

Colorado!

11 hours to get to green grass. . .

our day was filled with lots of cows

more cows. . .

Scott taking a picture of the rumble strips (he is a traffic engineer but still. . . )

getting ready for lunch

yummy turkey and pepper-jack cheese sandwich, made in the car!

my sandwich - the same turkey and pepper-jack

carrots!

Beautiful day for a drive!

car snacks

pile of clothes that keeps growing the further south we drive

using my Colorado book from my last trip to Denver!

7 hours later. . . Denver! and Mountains!

1st view of the Rocky Mountains!

Getting closer. . .

Mountains!!! Can you tell I am from flat Southern MN?!?

the view from our hotel room

Now we are headed out to downtown Denver to wander around “LoDo” (lower downtown Denver) and eat dinner at the Denver Chophouse and brewery! Hope you are having a great week. 🙂

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized, vacation