Daily Archives: March 29, 2011

Taco Chicken

At least someone enjoyed my oatmeal from this morning!

DSC01424

DSC01426DSC01428

After thinking about it, here are the toppings I think would be good in ‘my’ oatmeal:

  • banana chips
  • walnuts/pecans
  • honey roasted almonds
  • dark chocolate peanut butter – I have also heard they have white chocolate pb!
  • dried fruit

So, the oatmeal experiments will continue – stay tuned!

Lunch

Lunch was quick. I grabbed a cup of soup from the hospital cafeteria – Italian wedding. One of their good ones.

I was still hungry, so I tried a bite of this bar,

DSC01430

no good.

So, I made up for it with this Kashi bar. Love the whole almonds!

DSC01434

I also had an Adora chocolate calcium. So good –> chocolate and calcium!

 DSC01429

When I got home from work today, it was 41 degrees and sunny. The nicest weather we have had so far this spring. Both Scott and Abby wanted to go for my run with me.

We ran around Minnesota State University campus (which I LOVE because all the college girls ‘awwww’ at how cute Abby is!) for about 4 miles.

Because of all the spring puddles, Abby got a quick rinse before being allowed back in the house!

Dinner

Super easy, yummy recipe!

Taco chicken

All you need is a packet of taco seasoning

and about 1# chicken breasts

Slice the chicken breasts into thick slices – about 3 slices per breast.

Put in a big ziploc bag with taco seasoning and shake to coat.

DSC01441

Put in baking pan. Bake at 350 degrees for about 30 minutes.

DSC01442DSC01443

Serve with sour cream.

DSC01445

We also had some tortilla chips with the best mango peach salsa from HyVee!

Quick, easy, good dinner! Smile 

Off to snuggle on the couch. . . I see some ice cream in my future. See ya tomorrow!!!

1 Comment

Filed under Dinner, Recipes

Oatmeal experiment

The view from my end of the couch last night:

DSC01412

I don’t like oatmeal.

Correction: I don’t like regular oatmeal

I do like

  • oatmeal in cookies – i.e. oatmeal chocolate chip
  • oatmeal in granola

Many of the bloggers whose blogs I read, have oatmeal in the morning for breakfast. Sometimes it is mixed with yogurt, sometimes ‘made’ in the fridge overnight, sometimes put in smoothies.

Since I like oatmeal, just not fully cooked, I am going to do some oatmeal experimenting. . .

So, last night, I put 1/2 cup oatmeal with 1/4 cup skim milk to soak overnight.

This morning, I tested it. It tasted pretty good. It was still a little nutty but a little chewy too. I didn’t want to just eat it plain, but wasn’t quite sure what to put on it.

So, I tried fresh blueberries on one side and a scoop of pb on the other.

DSC01413DSC01414DSC01415

I didn’t like the blueberries with the oatmeal. So, I ended up just eating the blueberries.

Then, I mixed the pb in with the rest of the oatmeal. It was ok. . . it kinda turned into a gooey ball. I ate most of it, but it wasn’t the best thing ever.

DSC01418

I think it would be good, with the right toppings. . .

Thankfully, I had my caramel skim latte to save breakfast!

DSC01416DSC01419

And Abby was helpful too!

DSC01417

Help! What do you put on your oatmeal?

Leave a comment

Filed under Breakfast